Jeremy Raia _Marc Montplaisir.jpg

Jeremy Raia

BIOGRAPHY

Jeremy Raia began his training in the borough of Queens, New York. He received his bachelor's degree from the Juilliard School in 1996. He also studied at the Boston Ballet School and the Koniklijk Conservatory in the Netherlands.  

In 1996 Jeremy began his professional career with Ballet Arizona, dancing works by George Balanchine, Michael Uthoff and Daniel Ezralow. After two seasons, he was invited to join the Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal where he was principal soloist until his retirement in 2018. There he danced classical and contemporary works by a multitude of choreographers including George Balanchine, Jiri Kylian, Mats Ek, Nacho Duato, William Forsythe and Ohad Naharin. He is also at the origin of certain roles in works presented as world premieres (Stijn Celis, Didy Veldman, Mauro Bigonzetti and Stephan Thoss). He played Roméo and Mercutio in Roméo et Juliette by Jean-Christophe Maillot as well as Léonce in Léonce et Léna by Christian Spuck.

Jeremy has taught at various schools and conventions in the United States, Canada and South America. He was assistant to the ballet masters at Les Grands Ballets, was the company's representative and gave master classes on international tours. He has been artist-in-residence at Hamilton College in New York and at the Ballet Metropolitano in Colombia, and he has staged Didy Veldman's work on the Leipzig Ballet in Germany.

From 2018 to 2020, Jeremy was Ballet Master at Les Ballets Jazz Montreal and served as Interim Artistic Director for the 2020/21 season. More recently. Jeremy joined the faculty of the École Supérieure de Ballet du Québec.

Jeremy Raia _Marc Montplaisir.jpg

Jeremy Raia

BIOGRAPHIE

Jeremy Raia a commencé sa formation dans l’arrondissement Queens, à New York. Il a obtenu son baccalauréat de la Juilliard School en 1996. Il a également étudié au Boston Ballet School et au Conservatoire Koniklijk aux Pays-Bas. 

En 1996, Jeremy a débuté sa carrière professionnelle avec le Ballet Arizona, dansant des oeuvres de George Balanchine, Michael Uthoff et Daniel Ezralow. Après deux saisons, il est invité à se joindre aux Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal où il sera premier soliste jusqu’à sa retraite en 2018. Il y danse des œuvres classiques et contemporaines d’une multitude de chorégraphes dont George Balanchine, Jiri Kylian, Mats Ek, Nacho Duato, William Forsythe et Ohad Naharin. Il est d’ailleurs à l’origine de certains rôles d’oeuvres présentées en première mondiale (Stijn Celis, Didy Veldman, Mauro Bigonzetti et Stephan Thoss). Il a incarné Roméo et Mercutio dans Roméo et Juliette de Jean-Christophe Maillot ainsi que Léonce dans Léonce et Léna de Christian Spuck.

Jeremy a enseigné au sein de diverses écoles et conventions aux États-Unis, au Canada et en Amérique du Sud. Il a été assistant aux maîtres de ballet aux Grands Ballets, a été représentant de la compagnie et a donné des classes de maître lors des tournées internationales. Il a été artiste en résidence au Hamilton College à New York et au Ballet Metropolitano en Colombie, et il a remonté la chorégraphie de Didy Veldman sur le Ballet de Leipzig en Allemagne.

De 2018 à 2020, Jeremy a été maître de ballet aux Ballets Jazz Montréal et a occupé le poste de directeur artistique par intérim pour la saison 2020/21. Plus récemment. Jeremy s’est joint au corps professoral de l’École supérieure de ballet du Québec.