agora-In-Ward-ebnfloh-by-Melika-Dez.jpg

Alexandra ‘Spicey’ Landé

LABORATORY

During this creative laboratory, I will bring the dancers into my world, where they will be able to discover the different dimensions of my language. At the heart of this experience - each of them will live this moment from their individual perspectives.  They will be invited to improvise (Freestyle) following guidelines, sometimes clear, sometimes felt, allowing them to appropriate the choreographic form.  To do this, I will put forward three techniques:

  • Isolations

  • Stretching

  • Grounding

 

We will begin sessions of improvisations - danced, spoken or otherwise - allowing the performer to use the most favorable means for his or her intervention. In order to amplify the level of intensity during an improvisation, I may give some guidelines, such as not to pick up between each intervention or to speak with one's body without worrying about the other's gaze. Favouring the creation of relevant and authentic situations, these types of sessions and exchanges are an integral part of my creative process.  All this in the Hip Hop universe, music and culture.

Alexandra

'Spicey' Landé

Ebnflōh

Workshop

May 31 to June 4

10:00 to 13:30

(17.5 hours)


Place: Wilder Studio Building: to be confirmed

Pricing and

Registration

DAC pro - $ 158 ($ 9 / hr)

Standard- $ 228 ($ 13 / hr)

BIOGRAPHY
Montreal choreographer and major figure of Hip-Hop dance in Quebec, her passion for this art was born in the 80's when she was very young. The symbiotic relationship she maintains with Hip-Hop culture in her choreographic work is the essence of her artistic signature. In 2008 Alexandra began her career as an independent choreographer and presented Retrospek at MAI. The show is warmly received and inspires several choreographers in urban dances. Awarded by the RIDEAU-Entrées en scène Loto Québec grant in 2009, it was presented by some twenty presenters. In 2010, Alexandra created her second long-lasting piece, Renézance, which was presented several times in Montreal. At the same time, the Bust A Move Festival (2005-2015) that she founded has established itself as the largest street dance competition in Canada; La TOHU becomes its co-presenter. In 2015, Alexandra founded the company Ebnflōh in order to further her artistic aspirations and bring urban dance creation to contemporary dance scenes. She surrounds herself with accomplices and peers who fuel her creative process. She presents Complexe R, a work inspired by our human obsessions, at the MAI in late 2015. The show is presented in Montreal, Toronto, Whitehorse, New York and Amsterdam. In-Ward, the company's new creation, will premiere in the gallery at MAI from January 16 to 20, 2019; the creation has received the support of several major partners (CCOV, Danse Danse, Agora de la Danse, etc.). Alexandra has also been a performer and teacher of Hip-Hop dance for almost 20 years. Today, with Ebnflōh, Alexandra 'Spicey' Landé builds a choreographic language specific to her vision. Her artistic signature, her involvement in the community and her contribution to the artistic milieu make her a driving force in the creation of street dance in Canada.

 
THE COMPAGNY

Ebnflōh (pronounced Ebenflo) comes from the English term "ebb and flow" which marks action and reaction, ebb and flow, constant movement and change. Like the perpetual rippling of water, the company's choreographic language is anchored in the fluidity of movement. With a meticulous precision that allows the exposure of multiple details and nuances, the choreographer has been offering, since 2008, intense works where several layers of reading are superimposed. She takes a singular and deeply relational look at what we are used to seeing on the surface. Influenced by theater and film, her work also builds bridges with other disciplines, notably music. Ebnflōh aims to promote contemporary creation and street dance artists on stages in Quebec, Canada and internationally. In particular, the company highlights the point of view and practices of emerging and culturally diverse artists. It wants to attract the interest of a large number of spectators and make street dance accessible to a diversity of audiences. Finally, in the context where street dance is not taught by the academic community, the transmission of the hip-hop language to future generations is a central point of its commitment. Ebnflōh was born from the desire to explore and develop an original, authentic and innovative Hip Hop aesthetic and choreographic language.

 

The dance company Ebnflōh is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create, produce and disseminate committed, authentic and innovative works, and to promote an original choreographic language rooted in the essence of Hip Hop. It is active in Quebec, Canada and internationally. Ebnflōh strives for artistic excellence and develops its reflection around innovative concepts, with a very deep demand for expression through the art of dance. Its artistic signature, its involvement in the community, and its contribution to the development of dancers and the discipline, make the company a recognized leader in dance across Quebec.

agora-In-Ward-ebnfloh-by-Melika-Dez.jpg

Alexandra ‘Spicey’ Landé

LABORTOIRE

Lors de ce laboratoire créatif, je tenterai d’emmener les interprètes dans mon monde, où ils pourront y découvrir les différentes facettes de mon langage. Au cœur de cette expérience - chacun d’entre eux vivront ce moment selon leurs perspectives individuelles.  Ils seront invité à improviser (Freestyle) suivant des directives, parfois claires parfois ressenties, leurs permettant de s’approprier la forme chorégraphique.  Pour ce faire, je mettrais trois techniques de l’avant :

  • Isolations

  • L’Étirement

  • Grounding

 
Nous entamerons des séances d’improvisations dansées, parlées ou autres – permettant à l’interprète l’utilisation du moyen le plus favorable à son intervention. Afin d’amplifier le niveau d’intensité lors d’une improvisation, il est possible que je donne quelques directives, telles que ne pas décrocher entre chaque intervention ou encore parler avec son corps sans se soucier du regard des autres. Favorisant la création de mises en situations pertinentes et authentiques, ces types de séance et d’échange font partie intégrante de mon processus créatif.  Tout ça dans l’univers, la musique et la culture Hip Hop.

Alexandra

‘Spicey’ Landé

Ebnflōh

Atelier

31 mai au 4 juin

10:00 à 13:30

(17.5 heures)


Place : Édifice Wilder  Studio : à confirmer

Tarifs et

inscription

DAC pro - 158$ (9$/hr)

 Standard- 228$ (13$/hr)

BIOGRAPHIE
Chorégraphe montréalaise et figure majeure de la danse Hip-Hop au Québec, sa passion pour cet art naît dans les années 80 alors qu’elle est toute petite. La relation symbiotique qu’elle entretient avec la culture Hip-Hop dans son travail chorégraphique constitue l’essence de sa signature artistique. C’est en 2008 qu’Alexandra débute sa carrière de chorégraphe indépendante et présente au MAI, Retrospek. Le spectacle est chaudement reçu et inspire plusieurs chorégraphes en danses urbaines. Récompensé par la bourse RIDEAU-Entrées en scène Loto Québec en 2009, il est présenté chez une vingtaine de diffuseurs. En 2010, Alexandra crée sa deuxième pièce de longue durée, Renézance, diffusée plusieurs fois à Montréal. Dans le même temps, le Festival Bust A Move (2005-2015) qu’elle a fondé s’impose comme la plus grande compétition de danses de rue au Canada; la TOHU en devient le co-présentateur. Désirant pousser ses aspirations artistiques et faire rayonner la création en danses urbaines sur les scènes contemporaines, Alexandra fonde en 2015 la compagnie Ebnflōh. Elle s’entoure de complices et de pairs qui alimentent son processus créatif. Elle présente au MAI fin 2015, Complexe R, une œuvre inspirée de nos obsessions humaines. Le spectacle est notamment diffusé à Montréal, Toronto, Whitehorse, New York et Amsterdam. In-Ward, la nouvelle création de la compagnie, sera diffusée en Première dans la galerie au MAI du 16 au 20 janvier 2019; la création a reçu le soutien de plusieurs partenaires majeurs (CCOV, Danse Danse, Agora de la Danse, etc.). Alexandra est aussi interprète et professeure de danse Hip-Hop depuis presque 20 ans. Aujourd’hui avec Ebnflōh, d’Alexandra ‘Spicey’ Landé construit un langage chorégraphique propre à sa vision. Sa signature artistique, son implication dans la communauté et sa contribution au milieu artistique font d’elle un moteur de la création en street dance au Canada.
 

LA COMPAGNIE 
Ebnflōh (prononcé Ebenflo) vient du terme anglais « ebb and flow » qui marque l’action et la réaction, le flux et le reflux, le mouvement constant et le changement. Comme l’ondulation perpétuelle de l’eau, le langage chorégraphique de la compagnie s’ancre dans la fluidité du mouvement. Avec une précision méticuleuse qui permet la mise à nu de multiples détails et nuances, la chorégraphe offre, depuis 2008, des oeuvres intenses où se superposent plusieurs couches de lecture. Elle pose un regard singulier et profondément relationnel sur ce que nous sommes habitués de voir en surface. Influencé par le théâtre et le cinéma, son travail élabore aussi des passerelles avec d’autres disciplines, notamment la musique. Ebnflōh a pour objectif de faire rayonner la création contemporaine et les artistes des danses de rue sur les scènes au Québec, au Canada et à l’international. La compagnie met notamment en lumière le point de vue et les pratiques d’artistes de la relève et de la diversité culturelle. Elle veut susciter l’intérêt d’un grand nombre de spectateurs et rendre le street dance accessible à une diversité de publics. Enfin, dans le contexte où les danses de rue ne sont pas enseignées par le milieu académique, la transmission du langage hip-hop aux générations futures est un point central de son engagement. Ebnflōh est né de la volonté d’explorer et développer une esthétique et un langage chorégraphique Hip Hop, original, authentique et novateur.
 
La compagnie de danse Ebnflōh est un organisme à but non lucratif dont la mission est de créer, produire et diffuser des œuvres engagées, authentiques et innovatrices, et de promouvoir un langage chorégraphique original enraciné dans l’essence du Hip-Hop. Elle déploie ses activités au Québec, au Canada et à l’international. Ebnflōh vise l’excellence artistique et développe sa réflexion autour de concepts novateurs, dans une exigence d’expression très profonde à travers l’art de la danse. Sa signature artistique, son implication dans la communauté, et sa contribution au développement des danseurs et de la discipline font de la compagnie un acteur reconnu de la danse au Québec.