_Do Phan Hoi.jpg

Helen
Simard

Creation Laboratory - Papillon - The process

I have long been fascinated by chaos, and see it as a vector of poetry that is central in my work. I craft interdisciplinary dance performances that intend to trigger states of sensorial overload for audiences in order to steer them away from logical thinking into more affective, visceral ways of experiencing art. Through a layering movement, live music, and text; through a barrage of visual and aural stimuli; through a complex and ever shifting use of rhythm, space, and dynamics; I give space to the messy, the raw, the undefinable, unsettled spaces of life. In a perpetually redefining state of reality, strong images and emotions emerge suddenly, only to be shifted or shattered without notice. Seeking out and embracing chaos allows me to create paradoxical works that are at once beautiful and disturbing, accessible and provoking, familiar and strange.

 

In this creation workshop, I draw on compositional techniques used to create my latest show, PAPILLON, and invite participants to order to join me as we explore the fine lines between order and disorder in order to touch on notions of metamorphosis, the cyclical nature of the self – change, loss, grief, acceptance and growth – the strangeness that lives inside us, finding freedom in confinement, loneliness and togetherness, singularity and similarity, and the importance of human connection. Together, we will know and unknow. We will do and undo. We will search and we will get lost. We will laugh. We will live. We will listen. We will learn. We will dance. A lot. We will make space for each other in all of our complexity.

Helen
Simard

Creation Laboratory
Papillon
The process

May 30 to June 3

2:15 p.m. to 6:15 p.m.

(20 hours)

Wilder Building

Studio: to be confirmed

Pricing and

Registration

DAC pro - $ 180 ($9 / hr) | Standard- $ 260 ($13 / hr)

HELEN SIMARD

Helen Simard is a choreographer who has been working since 2000 in Tiohtiá:ke/Montreal . After working for twelve years with Solid State Breakdance —  a creative collective in urban and contemporary dance — and participating in nine collaborative creations, she decided in 2012 to lead her own projects. She invites musicians and dancers into the studio to create hybrid, often deafening performances such as: NO FUN (2015), IDIOT (2017), REQUIEM POP (2019) and Papillon (2020). Helen is currently an artist-in-residence at Playwrights' Workshop Montreal until 2022, as part of their interdisciplinary writers' lab; she is using this opportunity to write her first play, When Your Baby Dies. Over the years, she has also collaborated with Ebnfloh, AP&A, Sébastien Provencher, Tentacle Tribe and Parts+Labour Danse as a rehearsal director and dramaturge. Helen holds a BFA in contemporary dance from Concordia University (2000) and an MA in dance from UQAM (2014). In 2019, she founded the company We All Fall Down | Interdisciplinary Creations (WAFD) with the composer Roger White. Under their co-artistic direction, WAFD values live performance as a place for experimentation and risk-taking in order to deconstruct/reinvent the body and its ways of relating to time and space - both for the performers and the audience. Through their creations, the body is speaking, dancing, musical, impulsive, vulnerable, hybrid, powerful, dislocated, emotional.

_Do Phan Hoi.jpg

Helen
Simard

Laboratoire de création - Papillon - The process

Je suis depuis longtemps fascinée par le chaos, et je le considère comme un vecteur de poésie qui occupe une place centrale dans mon travail. Je crée des performances de danse interdisciplinaires qui visent à déclencher des états de surcharge sensorielle chez le public afin de l'éloigner de la pensée logique pour le diriger vers des façons plus affectives et viscérales de vivre l'art. Par une superposition de mouvements, de musique live et de textes, par un déluge de stimuli visuels et auditifs, par une utilisation complexe et toujours changeante du rythme, de l'espace et de la dynamique, je donne de l'espace aux moments désordonnés, bruts, indéfinissables et instables de la vie. Dans un état de réalité en perpétuelle redéfinition, des images et des émotions fortes émergent soudainement, pour être ensuite déplacées ou brisées sans préavis. Rechercher et accepter le chaos me permet de créer des œuvres paradoxales qui sont à la fois belles et dérangeantes, accessibles et provocantes, familières et étranges.

Dans le cadre de cet atelier, je m'inspirerai de ma dernière création PAPILLON, et j'inviterai les participants à se joindre à moi pour explorer les fines lignes entre l'ordre et le désordre afin d'aborder les notions de métamorphose, la nature cyclique du soi - le changement, la perte, le deuil, l'acceptation et la croissance - l'étrangeté qui vit en nous, la recherche de la liberté dans l'enfermement, la solitude et l'unité, la spécificité et la similarité, et l'importance de la connexion humaine. Ensemble, nous saurons et ne saurons pas. Nous bâtirons et démolirons. Nous chercherons et nous nous perdrons. Nous rirons. Nous vivrons. Nous écouterons. Nous apprendrons. Nous allons danser. Nous danserons. beaucoup. Nous ferons de la place pour la complexité.

Helen
Simard

Creation Laboratory
Papillon
The process

30 mai au 3 juin

14:15 à 18:15

(20 heures)

Édifice Wilder

Studio : à confirmer

Tarifs et

inscription

DAC pro - 180$ (9$/hr) | Standard- 260$ (13$/hr)

HELEN SIMARD

Helen Simard est chorégraphe qui œuvre depuis 2000 à Tiohtiá:ke/Montréal. Après avoir travaillé avec Solid State Breakdance — collectif de création en danse urbaine et contemporaine — pendant douze ans et a participé à neuf créations à plusieurs têtes, elle décide en 2012 de mener ses propres projets. Elle convie musicien.ne.s et danseur.se.s en studio pour créer des spectacles hybrides, souvent assourdissants, tels que: NO FUN (2015), IDIOT (2017), REQUIEM POP (2019) et Papillon (2020). Helen est présentement artiste en résidence à Playwrights’ Workshop Montréal jusqu’en 2022, dans le cadre de leur laboratoire d’écrivains interdisciplinaire; elle profite de cette occasion pour écrire sa première pièce de théâtre, When Your Baby Dies. Au fil des années, elle collabore également avec Ebnfloh, AP&A, Sébastien Provencher, Tentacle Tribe et Parts+Labour Danse en tant que répétitrice et dramaturge. Bachelière en danse contemporaine de l’Université Concordia (2000), Helen détient également une maîtrise en danse (UQAM, 2014). En 2019, Helen fonde la compagnie Créations Interdisciplinaires | We All Fall Down (WAFD) avec le compositeur Roger White. Sous leur codirection artistique, WAFD valorise le spectacle vivant comme lieu d’expérimentation et de prise de risque afin de déconstruire/réinventer le corps et ses façons d’entrer en relation avec le temps et l’espace — tant pour les performeur.euses que pour les spectateurs.trices. À travers leurs créations, le corps est parlant, dansant, musical, impulsif, vulnérable, hybride, puissant, disloqué, émotif.