Winston & Kim.001.jpeg

Kim Amankwaa
Winston Reynolds

WORKSHOP  -  MICROBATICS & AGILITY

In this workshop we will be working on a new and ongoing research into Microbatics & Agility

These two themes will be split into segments but remain related as we progress through the days. The acrobatic practice stems from a necessity of developing an approach to the world of inversions in a sustainable and somewhat holistic manner and is partially inspired by some earlier setbacks and injuries in education, which in turn required an adaptation and evolution for the working methodologies we will explore.                                                                                         

It forms the foundation of the practice and tries to present and invite the individual in integrating the acrobatic language seamlessly and precisely into their system. Through this approach perhaps the eventual aim being the ability of blurring the edges between what separates acrobatics and your personal movement approach. 

 

This workshop’s second topic is agility; Where we look at understanding how to cultivate and explore different training scenarios orchestrated around the sub chapters of balance, coordination, endurance, speed, meditation and strength. While exploring these themes we will be drawing particular focus on ‘the relationship’ between learning and failure; Purposely inviting the exposure of failure in order to rediscover and recognise its function.

 

What we are interested in is to create an environment to build up an all-round adaptive mover. With this as an aim we suggest the idea of an investment into a practice composed of different forms of movement training in which to combine and create the foundation of ‘the Hybrid Mover’; alternatively described as someone who is capable of adapting themselves to a wide variety of dynamic cognitive and physical situations.

 

The proposed training takes inspiration from neuroscience, fighting, dancing, acrobatics, meditation, locomotion and partnering, to attempt to extract different ingredients from these forms and introduce both already established ideas and an ongoing research into the subject cultivating a movement practice.

Winston Reynolds
Kim Amankwaa

Workshop
Agility & Microbatics

June 6 to 10

10:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

(17.5 hours)

6 au 10 juin

10:00 à 13:30

(17.5 heures)

14:15 à 18:15

(20 heures)
 

Édifice Wilder

Studio : à confirmer

Pricing and

Registration

DAC pro - $ 158 ($ 9 / hr)

Standard- $ 228 ($ 13 / hr)

WINSTON REYNOLDS

Winston Reynolds graduated from Circomedia, specialising in acrobatics & physical theatre (FDA, 2010-2012). And later went on to complete his Bachelor at ACAPA (Academy of Circus and Performance Art, Netherlands, 2012-2016). Within his research he specialised in acrobatic dance, a hybrid mix containing elements from gymnastics, capoeira, breakdancing and martial arts as well as undergoing several years of research around acrobatic contact partnering. Within his practice he was mentored and performed ('Red Haired Men 2019-2020') with Alexander Vantournhout who helped to refine and develop his journey into his movement practice. Alongside his development as a movement artist, he has an ongoing dialogue and study with Martin Kilvady, Tomislav English, Marcelo Palozzo and Alexandra Myriam Rosser. Winston currently leads workshops and develops distant learning programs globally and continues to develop and refine his craft both independently and collaboratively as teacher, creator, performer, animal study specialist, and digital creator. Winston is a member of the Ferus Animi // Terra Nova Collective, a group of cross-disciplinary craftspersons’ researching in the fields of human physiology and performance, through both an artistic and scientific lens.

KIM AMANKWAA

Kim Amankwaa's personal practice is informed by her education at the Modern Theatre Dance Department at the Amsterdam School for the Arts. As a performer Kim has worked with Emio Greco and Pieter C. Scholten's ICK, including works by Jakop Ahlbom, Kris Verdonck, Nacera Belaza, Eric Minh Cuong Castaing, Faustin Linyejula and Emanuel Gat, alongside work with companies including Arno Schuitemaker, Kasper Vandenberghe, Andreas Constantinou, Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker's ROSAS, Alexander Vantournhout / NotStanding, on film in Paul Thomas Anderson, Thom Yorke and Damien Jalet's ANIMA and currently with Damien Jalet for the production Planet [wanderer].

Winston & Kim.001.jpeg

Kim Amankwaa
Winston Reynolds

ATELIER   - MICROBATICS & AGILITY 
 

Lors de cet atelier, nous travaillerons sur une nouvelle recherche en cours sur la microbatique et l'agilité. Ces deux thèmes seront divisés en segments mais resteront liés au fil des jours. 

La pratique acrobatique découle de la nécessité de développer une approche du monde des inversions d'une manière durable et relativement holistique. Elle est en partie inspirée par certains échecs et blessures antérieurs dans le cadre de l'éducation, ce qui a nécessité une adaptation et une évolution des méthodologies de travail que nous allons explorer.                                                                                         

Elle constitue la base de la pratique et tente de présenter et d'inviter l'individu à intégrer le langage acrobatique de manière transparente et précise dans son système. Grâce à cette approche, l'objectif final est peut-être d'estomper les frontières entre ce qui sépare l'acrobatie et votre approche personnelle du mouvement. 

Le deuxième thème de cet atelier est l'agilité ; nous chercherons à comprendre comment cultiver et explorer différents scénarios d'entraînement orchestrés autour des sous-chapitres suivants : équilibre, coordination, endurance, vitesse, méditation et force. En explorant ces thèmes, nous mettrons l'accent sur la relation entre l'apprentissage et l'échec, en invitant délibérément l'exposition à l'échec afin de redécouvrir et de reconnaître sa fonction.

 

Ce qui nous intéresse, c'est de créer un environnement propice à la construction d'un mouvement adaptatif complet. Dans cette optique, nous suggérons l'idée d'un investissement dans une pratique composée de différentes formes d'entraînement du mouvement qui se combinent et créent les bases du " Bougeur hybride ", autrement décrit comme une personne capable de s'adapter à une grande variété de situations dynamiques cognitives et physiques.

 

L'entraînement proposé s'inspire des neurosciences, du combat, de la danse, de l'acrobatie, de la méditation, de la locomotion et du partenariat, pour tenter d'extraire différents ingrédients de ces formes et introduire à la fois des idées déjà établies et une recherche continue sur le sujet en cultivant une pratique du mouvement.

 

Winston Reynolds
+
Kim Amankwaa

Atelier
Microbatics & Agility

6 au 10 juin

10:00 à 13:30

(17.5 heures)

6 au 10 juin

10:00 à 13:30

(17.5 heures)

14:15 à 18:15

(20 heures)
 

Édifice Wilder

Studio : à confirmer

Tarifs et

inscription

DAC pro - 158$ (9$/hr)

Standard - 228$ (13$/hr)

Winston Reynolds

Winston Reynolds est diplômé de Circomedia, spécialisé dans l'acrobatie et le théâtre physique (FDA, 2010-2012). Il a ensuite obtenu son baccalauréat à l'ACAPA (Academy of Circus and Performance Art, Pays-Bas, 2012-2016). Dans le cadre de sa recherche, il s'est spécialisé dans la danse acrobatique, un mélange hybride contenant des éléments de gymnastique, de capoeira, de breakdance et d'arts martiaux, et a également effectué plusieurs années de recherche sur le contact acrobatique. Dans le cadre de sa pratique, il a été encadré et s'est produit ('Red Haired Men 2019-2020') avec Alexander Vantournhout, qui a contribué à affiner et à développer son parcours dans sa pratique du mouvement.  Parallèlement à son développement en tant qu'artiste du mouvement, il a un dialogue et une étude continus avec Martin Kilvady, Tomislav English, Marcelo Palozzo et Alexandra Myriam Rosser.  Winston dirige actuellement des ateliers et développe des programmes d'apprentissage à distance dans le monde entier. Il continue à développer et à affiner son art, de manière indépendante et en collaboration, en tant qu'enseignant, créateur, interprète, spécialiste de l'étude des animaux et créateur numérique.   Winston est membre du collectif Ferus Animi // Terra Nova, un groupe d'artisans pluridisciplinaires qui effectuent des recherches dans les domaines de la physiologie humaine et de la performance, dans une optique à la fois artistique et scientifique.

Kim Amankwaa

La pratique personnelle de Kim Amankwaa s'inspire de sa formation au département de danse du théâtre moderne de l'école des arts d'Amsterdam. En tant qu'interprète, Kim a travaillé avec Emio Greco et Pieter C. Scholten, notamment des œuvres de Jakop Ahlbom, Kris Verdonck, Nacera Belaza, Eric Minh Cuong Castaing, Faustin Linyejula et Emanuel Gat, ainsi qu'avec des compagnies comme Arno Schuitemaker, Kasper Vandenberghe, Andreas Constantinou, ROSAS d'Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Alexander Vantournhout / NotStanding, sur film dans ANIMA de Paul Thomas Anderson, Thom Yorke et Damien Jalet. Elle travaille actuellement avec Damien Jalet pour la production Planet [wanderer].