Les corps avaleės par Vanessa Fortin04.

Virginie Brunelle

Nicolas Berzi

CREATION LABORATORY

This creation laboratory is part of an exploration phase for "Recipe for Tragedy", a dance-theatre project co-created by choreographer Virginie Brunelle and author/director Nicolas Berzi. The duo will lead the participants to develop a new form of interpretation, a stage language that hybridizes body and voice. The laboratory week will be structured around a fragmented dramaturgical score opening up a transdisciplinary approach.

Virginie Brunelle and Nicolas Berzi

Creation Laboratory

May 24 to 28

2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

(20 hours)

Wilder Building

Studio: to be confirmed

Pricing and

Registration

DAC pro - $180 ($ 9 / hr)

Standard- $260 ($ 13 / hr)

BIOGRAPHIES

Virginie Brunelle

It is first through the spectrum of music that Virginie Brunelle discovered her artistic fiber. After dedicating her childhood to the violin, she transfers this musical knowledge and her mastery of rhythm to a dance training (UQAM, 2007) creation profile. As soon as she graduated, she quickly borrowed gestures from classical dance that she liked to dirty and divert. Since the founding of her eponymous company in 2009, Virginie has created six choreographic works that have been presented in more than fifty cities in twelve different countries, and she continues to be its general and artistic director. Deploying a choreographic approach that is both organic and intuitive, her works form a repertoire characterized by the raw emotion of the performers and by the humanity of the subjects tackled. 

Nicolas Berzi

Researcher-creator in the performing arts, director, author, dramaturgical advisor and audiovisual designer, Nicolas Berzi has been developing for more than fifteen years a collective, hybrid and transdisciplinary scenic writing. During his artistic career, he has presented about ten productions, most of which he has written. After completing a master's degree in philosophical aesthetics on dissonance in modern art (UDEM, 2011), he founded the creative company Artiste Inconnu (Montréal, 2013), of which he is still the general and artistic director. In parallel, he is completing a doctoral research-creation (2020, UQAM) on staging, the unplayable and the "cowork network", an interartistic and technological scenic composition methodology. In his research-creations, creative laboratories and professional productions, Nicolas Berzi is fully dedicated to the exploration of hybrid and innovative forms on stage.

Les corps avaleės par Vanessa Fortin04.

Virginie Brunelle

Nicolas Berzi

LABORATOIRE DE CRÉATION

Ce laboratoire de création s'inscrit dans une phase d'exploration pour « Recipe for Tragedy », un projet de danse-théâtre cocréé par la chorégraphe Virginie Brunelle et l'auteur/metteur en scène Nicolas Berzi. Le duo amènera les participants à développer une nouvelle forme d'interprétation, un langage scénique hybridant corps et voix. La semaine de laboratoire sera structurée autour d'une partition dramaturgique fragmentée ouvrant à une approche de travail transdisciplinaire.

Virginie Brunelle et Nicolas Berzi

Laboratoire de création

24 au 28 mai  

14:00 à 18:00

(20 heures) 

Édifice Wilder

Studio : à confirmer

Tarifs et

inscription

DAC pro - 180$ (9$/hr)

Standard- 260$ (13$/hr)

BIOGRAPHIES

Virginie Brunelle

C’est d’abord par le spectre de la musique que Virginie Brunelle découvre sa fibre artistique. Après avoir consacré son enfance au violon, elle transfère ce savoir musical et sa maitrise du rythme dans une formation en danse (UQAM, 2007) profil création. Dès sa sortie, elle emprunte rapidement à la danse classique des gestuelles qu’elle se plaît à salir et à détourner. Virginie a créé, depuis la fondation de sa compagnie éponyme en 2009 dont elle assure toujours la direction générale et artistique, six œuvres chorégraphiques qui ont été présentées dans plus de cinquante villes de douze pays différents. Déployant une  démarche chorégraphique à la fois organique et intuitive, ses œuvres forment un répertoire caractérisé par l’émotion brute des interprètes et par l’humanité des sujets abordés.  

Nicolas Berzi

Chercheur-créateur en arts de la scène, metteur en scène, auteur, conseiller dramaturgique et concepteur audiovisuel, Nicolas Berzi développe depuis plus de quinze ans une écriture scénique collective, hybride et transdisciplinaire. Durant ce parcours artistique, il présente une dizaine de mises en scène dont il signe la plupart des textes. Après avoir complété une maîtrise en esthétique philosophique sur la dissonance dans l’art moderne (UDEM, 2011), il fonde la compagnie de création Artiste Inconnu (Montréal, 2013) dont il assure encore la direction générale et artistique. Il complète en parallèle une recherche-création doctorale (2020, UQAM) sur la mise en scène, l’injouable et le « network du cowork », une méthodologie de composition scénique interartistique et technologique. Tant dans ses recherches-créations, ses laboratoires de création que ses productions professionnelles, Nicolas Berzi se dédit pleinement à l'exploration des formes hybrides et innovantes sur scène.