_Michael Slobodian(2).jpeg

Vanesa
Garcia-Ribala Montoya

Creation Laboratory - Flow

My creation process is based on a mixity of different practices. Drawing inspiration from martial arts, the physicality and fluidity of a variety of contemporary dance styles along with the lyricism of ballet and neoclassical styles, I blend these different components to shape and inform my perception of movement.

 

I work with all the unique resources I have available to explore all possibilities of movement. I encourage strength training and agility to facilitate moving through different levels with fluidity, combining some acrobatic floor work with standing broad movements which travel across space. Relying very much on musicality for dance inspiration allows me to explore advanced pathways of coordination and work with body isolations, waves and spirals to create complex and interesting pathways of movement, and to support the artistic expression of the movement through lyricism and emotion behind gestures. I continually reach for refined intricate and physical partnering focused on a fluid, organic and smooth execution. 

Vanesa
Garcia-Ribala Montoya

Creation Laboratory
FLOW

June 6 to 10

2:15 p.m. to 6:15 p.m.

(20 hours)

Wilder Building

Studio: to be confirmed

Pricing and

Registration

DAC pro - $ 180 ($9 / hr) | Standard- $ 260 ($13 / hr)

VANESA GARCIA-RIBALA MONTOYA

Vanesa Garcia-Ribala Montoya, from Spanish and Equatorial Guinean origins was born in Madrid, and received her conservatory diploma at the age of 17. She landed her first job with the Compañía Nacional de Danza 2, and after two years there briefly joined the ranks of the Ballet du Rhin in France. Vanesa was next hired by Les Grands Ballets, in 2006. She was promoted to demi-Soloist after two years, then to Soloist, and to First Soloist three years later. She was promoted to Principal dancer under Ivan Cavallari’s direction in 2017 becoming the first Black female dancer holding that title in the history of the company and in the Canadian Ballet scene. The company became her true home, and Montreal the setting for her personal and professional development. 

 

Today, Vanesa is also a choreographer, and teaches and collaborates often at the École supérieure de ballet du Québec and also works with different schools in Montreal. She discovered in herself a true passion for artistic creation, and offers her works to Les Grands Ballets Canadiens (Parlami d’Amore program, Luna program), and for fundraisers, charitable causes and festivals in Canada, Europe and Asia. She has additionally done collaborations with well-known artists, among them Martha Wainwright, Raine Maida, Chantal kreviazuk, Ravid Kahalani from “Yemen Blues” and Orchestre Métropolitain as part of the Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur. She has collaborated also with OSM, Festival Stella Musica, Festival Orchestre de Chambre de Montréal,Fall For Dance North Festival in collaboration with The National Ballet of Canada. Vanesa has collaborated with different musicians like neoclassical pianist Alexandra Stréliski, amongst many other artists in Canada. In addition Vanesa has also participated in different dance films and dance video projects, one of her latest short dance documentaries was featured at Festival du Film sur l’Art FIFA 2020 “The challenging dance” by Alexandre Paskanoi Her recent participation at Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur offers a film by Louis-Martin Charest, “Le vol de l’Épervier”, a solo piece performed and choreographed by Vanesa on the musical composition of F.H. Leclair, in collaboration with the Metropolitan Orchestra of Montreal. Her latest dance film project was in support of Black Lives Matter movement, «Reflexion», a film by Matthew Richardson featuring different black artists from Montreal. DANCE TRAINING 1994-1997 Conservatorio Profesional de Danza of Madrid 1997-2003 Real Conservatorio Profesional de Danza of Madrid     DANCE CAREER 2003 Jeune Ballet d’Europe 2003-2005 Compañia Nacional de Danza 2 2005-2006 Opéra national du Rhin 2006 Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal (Corps de ballet) 2008 Promoted to Demi-soloist 2009 Promoted to Soloist 2016 Promoted to First Soloist 2018 Promoted to Principal Dancer DANCE REPERTORY Vanesa Garcia-Ribala Montoya has performed as a soloist dancer in several ballets including Rubies (George Balanchine), Rassemblement (Nacho Duato), The Rite of Spring and Le regard d’Orphée (Stijn Celis), Sleeping Beauty (Mats Ek), Leonce and Lena (Christian Spuck), The Firebird (Marco Goecke), The Nutcracker (Fernand Nault), Roméo et Juliette (Jean-Christophe Maillot), Cantata, The Four Seasons (Mauro Bigonzetti) and The Queen of Spades (Kim Brandstrup), The Little Prince (Didy Veldman). Her repertoire also includes ballets from world-renowned choreographers such as Duende, Coming Together, Arenal, L'Amoroso, Jardí Tancat, (Nacho Duato) Six Dances, Forgotten Land, Bella Figura and Symphony of Psalms (Jiří Kylián), Polyphonia (Christopher Wheeldon), Arbos, Danz and Minus One (Ohad Naharin), Searching for Home, Dream Away (Stephan Thoss), RE-,II (Shen Wei), Frisking (Wim Vandekeybus), Ondine (David Nixon), Désert d'amour (Dominique Bagouet), Dance, Chamber Suite (Lucinda Childs), Episodes (George Balanchine), Noces among others.

_Michael Slobodian(2).jpeg

Vanesa
Garcia-Ribala Montoya

Laboratoire de création - FLOW

Mon processus de création est basé sur un mélange de différentes pratiques. En m'inspirant de différents arts martiaux, de la physicalité et de la fluidité de différents styles de danse contemporaine ainsi que du lyrisme du ballet et des styles néoclassiques, j'essaie d'en combiner différentes composantes pour aboutir à ma propre perception du mouvement.

 

J'aime mélanger les différentes ressources dont je dispose pour explorer toutes les possibilités du mouvement. J'aime entraîner la force et l'agilité afin d'être capable de passer d'un niveau à l'autre avec fluidité, en combinant un travail acrobatique au sol avec de larges mouvements debout pour se déplacer dans l'espace. La musique est également une source d'inspiration pour mon travail chorégraphique, ce qui me permet d'explorer différentes coordinations et de travailler avec des isolations corporelles, des vagues et des spirales pour essayer de créer des voies de mouvement complexes et intéressantes, et de soutenir l'expression artistique du mouvement par le lyrisme et les émotions derrière les gestes. 

Je m'intéresse également aux partenariats complexes et physiques, tout en essayant d'obtenir une exécution très fluide, organique et douce. 

Vanesa
Garcia-Ribala Montoya

Creation Laboratory
FLOW

6 au 10 juin

14:15 à 18:15

(20 heures)

Édifice Wilder

Studio : à confirmer

Tarifs et

inscription

DAC pro - 180$ (9$/hr) | Standard- 260$ (13$/hr)

VANESA GARCIA-RIBALA MONTOYA

Vanesa Garcia-Ribala Montoya, d'origine espagnole et équato-guinéenne, est née à Madrid et a obtenu son diplôme du conservatoire à l'âge de 17 ans. Elle a décroché son premier emploi à la Compañía Nacional de Danza 2 et, après deux ans, a brièvement rejoint les rangs du Ballet du Rhin en France. Vanesa est ensuite engagée par Les Grands Ballets, en 2006. Elle est promue demi-soliste après deux ans, puis soliste, et première soliste trois ans plus tard. Elle a été nommée première danseuse sous la direction d'Ivan Cavallari en 2017, devenant ainsi la première danseuse noire à porter ce titre dans l'histoire de la compagnie et sur la scène du Ballet canadien. La compagnie est devenue son véritable foyer, et Montréal le cadre de son développement personnel et professionnel.

Aujourd'hui, Vanesa est également chorégraphe, elle enseigne et collabore souvent à l'École supérieure de ballet du Québec et travaille également avec différentes écoles à Montréal. Elle a découvert en elle une véritable passion pour la création artistique, et offre ses œuvres aux Grands Ballets Canadiens (programme Parlami d'Amore, programme Luna), ainsi que pour des levées de fonds, des causes charitables et des festivals au Canada, en Europe et en Asie. Elle a également collaboré avec des artistes de renom, dont Martha Wainwright, Raine Maida, Chantal kreviazuk, Ravid Kahalani de "Yemen Blues" et l'Orchestre Métropolitain dans le cadre du Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur. Elle a également collaboré avec l'OSM, le Festival Stella Musica, le Festival Orchestre de Chambre de Montréal, le Fall For Dance North Festival en collaboration avec le Ballet National du Canada. Vanesa a collaboré avec différents musiciens comme la pianiste néoclassique Alexandra Stréliski, parmi de nombreux autres artistes au Canada. En outre, Vanesa a également participé à différents films et projets vidéo sur la danse, l'un de ses derniers courts métrages documentaires sur la danse a été présenté au Festival du Film sur l'Art FIFA 2020 "The challenging dance" d'Alexandre Paskanoi. Sa récente participation au Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur propose un film de Louis-Martin Charest, "Le vol de l'Épervier", une pièce solo interprétée et chorégraphiée par Vanesa sur la composition musicale de F.H. Leclair, en collaboration avec l'Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal. Son dernier projet de film de danse était en soutien au mouvement Black Lives Matter, "Reflexion", un film de Matthew Richardson mettant en scène différents artistes noirs de Montréal. FORMATION EN DANSE 1994-1997 Conservatorio Profesional de Danza de Madrid 1997-2003 Real Conservatorio Profesional de Danza de Madrid CARRIÈRE EN DANSE 2003 Jeune Ballet d'Europe 2003-2005 Compañia Nacional de Danza 2 2005-2006 Opéra national du Rhin 2006 Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal (Corps de ballet) 2008 Promue Demi- soliste 2009 Promue au rang de soliste 2016 Promue au rang de première soliste 2018 Promue au rang de première danseuse RÉPÉTITION DE LA DANSE Vanesa Garcia-Ribala Montoya s'est produite en tant que danseuse soliste dans plusieurs ballets dont Rubies (George Balanchine), Rassemblement (Nacho Duato), Le Sacre du printemps et Le regard d'Orphée (Stijn Celis), La Belle au bois dormant (Mats Ek), Léonce et Léna (Christian Spuck), L'Oiseau de feu (Marco Goecke), Casse-Noisette (Fernand Nault), Roméo et Juliette (Jean-Christophe Maillot), Cantata, Les Quatre Saisons (Mauro Bigonzetti) et La Dame de pique (Kim Brandstrup), Le Petit Prince (Didy Veldman). Son répertoire comprend également des ballets de chorégraphes de renommée mondiale tels que Duende, Coming Together, Arenal, L'Amoroso, Jardí Tancat, (Nacho Duato) Six Dances, Forgotten Land, Bella Figura et Symphony of Psalms (Jiří Kylián), Polyphonia (Christopher Wheeldon), Arbos, Danz et Minus One (Ohad Naharin), Searching for Home, Dream Away (Stephan Thoss), RE-,II (Shen Wei), Frisking (Wim Vandekeybus), Ondine (David Nixon), Désert d'amour (Dominique Bagouet), Dance, Chamber Suite (Lucinda Childs), Episodes (George Balanchine), Noces entre autres.