Face To Face 2 Photo by Ivy Wang.JPG

NAISHI WANG
&
LUKAS MALKOWSKI

BIOGRAPHIES

Naishi Wang has lived and worked in Toronto since entering The School of Toronto Dance Theatre in 2004. He attracted the Festival TransAmériques’s attention through his involvement in Quebec choreographer Paul-André Fortier’s projects 15 X LA NUIT and Trois (Agora de la danse, 2017), among others.

 

An independent contemporary dance artist, Wang observes and studies the underlying motivations of the body’s movements and the emotions it conveys. Renowned for his exceptional improvisations, which he turns into incarnations of bodily meaning, Wang is also a practicing visual artist. His drawings, which take the form of dances on paper, echo his work in dance. As a dancer, he has worked with various artists and choreographers, including Peter Chin, D.A. Hoskins, Paul-André Fortier and Heidi Strauss. As a choreographer, he is currently working with Jean Abreu for a co-creation named Deciphers and collaborated with Christoph Winkler, a Berlin-based Tanztheater artist, on Can Asian Dance?, Crossing Half of China to Sleep With You, and Tale of the Dragon and Lion.

Part of the MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) program in February 2019 and also presented in Halifax and Hamburg, his solo show Taking Breath demonstrated his interest in intimate forms of bodily communication, a subject he takes up again in the duet Face to Face. For this creation, he focused on our new modes of virtual communication and the factors that act in concert to convey our intentions in even the simplest exchanges. His next creation, a collaboration with Claudia Chan Tak entitled Double Tigers, will be presented at the Festival Accès Asie. The two artists will unpack their Chinese cultural baggage and explore how the Chinese conception of the body influences their movements.

FTA
Artists

Qudus Onikeku - 30/05

Lara Kramer - 31/05

Nadia Beugré  - 1/06

Naishi Wang &

Lukas Malkowski - 2/06

Catherine Gaudet - 3/06

FTA Workshops
Series

May 30 to June 3

10:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

(17.5 hours)

Wilder Building

Studio: to be confirmed

Pricing and

Registration

DAC pro - $ 158 ($ 9 / hr)

Standard- $ 228 ($ 13 / hr)

Face To Face 2 Photo by Ivy Wang.JPG

NAISHI WANG
&
LUKAS MALKOWSKI

BIOGRAPHIES

Naishi Wang vit et travaille à Toronto depuis son entrée à l’école du Toronto Dance Theatre en 2004. C’est entre autres grâce à sa collaboration aux projets du chorégraphe québécois Paul-André Fortier, 15 X LA NUIT et Trois (Agora de la danse, 2017), qu’il se fait remarquer par le Festival TransAmériques.

 

Artiste indépendant en danse contemporaine, Wang observe et étudie les motivations profondes des mouvements et des émotions transmises par le corps. Réputé pour ses improvisations exceptionnelles qu’il travaille comme des incarnations du sens dans le corps, Wang a aussi une pratique d’artiste visuel. Ses dessins, composés comme des danses sur papier, font écho à son travail en danse. Comme danseur, il a travaillé avec divers artistes et chorégraphes comme Peter Chin, D.A. Hoskins, Paul-André Fortier et Heidi Strauss. En tant que chorégraphe, il travaille actuellement avec Jean Abreu à une création commune, Deciphers, et a collaboré avec Christoph Winkler, un artiste de danse-théâtre établi à Berlin, pour Can Asian Dance?, Crossing Half of China to Sleep With You, et Tale of the Dragon and Lion.

Son solo Taking Breath, programmé au MAI – Montréal, arts interculturels en février 2019, et présenté à Halifax et à Hambourg, témoignait de son intérêt pour les formes de communication intimes du corps, qu’il met à nouveau à profit dans le duo Face to Face. Pour cette création, il s’est intéressé aux nouveaux modes de communication virtuels et aux facteurs qui agissent de concert pour transmettre nos intentions, dans les plus simples échanges. Sa prochaine création, cosignée avec Claudia Chan Tak, Double Tigers, sera présentée au Festival Accès Asie. Les deux artistes interrogent leur bagage culturel chinois et sondent l’empreinte du corps chinois dans leurs mouvements.

Artistes
du FTA

Qudus Onikeku - 30/05

Lara Kramer - 31/05

Nadia Beugré  - 1/06

Naishi Wang & Lukas Malkowski - 2/06

Catherine Gaudet - 3/06

Ateliers
FTA

30 mai au 3 juin

10:00 à 13:30

(17.5 heures)
 

Édifice Wilder

Studio : à confirmer

Tarifs et

inscription

DAC pro - 158$ (9$/hr)

Standard- 228$ (13$/hr)