bang-bang-compagnie-manuel-roque_2-heade

Manuel 

Roque

WORKSHOP

The workshop will focus on exploring and listening kinesthetically to the self, the other, the group and the environment. Through improvisational exercises and written material, the performer will be led to question the notions of physical experience, of sharing and of a state of grace in order to create meeting points between virtuosity and somatic attention, with the aim of renewing the pleasure of dancing endlessly. The workshop will also include discussions on the notions of presence, experience, integrity and the context of representation.

 

We will begin with a thorough guided warm-up by exploring different systems of movement and the notions of floor, weight, fluidity, vibration, speed, density, in order to encourage freedom and singularity. We will combine fluid systems with constraints (counting / space / group listening...) and observe how we play with matter, how we interact with new territories while responding to specific tasks. 

Finally, we will browse through repertory excerpts using the concepts we explored earlier. Technicality, total commitment and attention (to oneself, to others and to the environment), presence or " kinesthetic identity " play an important role in this workshop.

Manual

Castling

Workshop

May 24 to 28 or

June 7 to 11

10:00 to 13:30

(17.5 hours)

Wilder Building

Studio: to be confirmed

Pricing and

Registration

DAC pro - $ 158 ($ 9 / hr)

Standard- $ 228 ($ 13 / hr)

MANUEL ROQUEIn parallel with an exciting and varied performing career (Marie Chouinard, Dominique Porte, Peter James, Sylvain Emard, Paul André Fortier ...), Manu choreographed short forms (Brendon and Brenda, 2002; Ô mon bateau, 2004) before creating and dancing RAW- me (2010), a solo that received numerous awards at the Vue sur la Relève festival and OFFTA. This will be followed by the duo combining dance and theater Ne meurs pas tout de suite, on nous regarde created and performed with Lucie Vigneault. He founded the Cie Manuel Roque in 2013 and created the project In Situ for the public space of Place des Arts de Montréal in January 2014. The solo Data (2014) focuses on the mutation of matter and will be performed at Usine C, then performed again at the FTA 2015 at the June Event Festival (Paris) and on an international tour. In addition to his participation in the European project Migrant Bodies, where he created Matière Noire, Manu choreographed Aurora for the graduates of EDCMTL and then 4-OR, which was presented in Montreal in December 2015 by Tangente and Parcours Danse. The solo bang bang was created in Lyon in April 2017, then at the FTA 2017 and won the Prix de l'Oeuvre chorégraphique 2017 des prix de la Danse de Montréal. In 2018, he also receives the Studio du Québec in Paris, a 6-month artistic research and resourcing residency offered by the CALQ and the Cité des Arts in Paris. His latest creation, the solo SIERRANEVADA, is caught in the pandemic meanders and should now see the light of day in 2021. Her creative universe is interested in the crossing of contemporary languages and puts into dance a kinesthetic virtuosity combined with a polymorphic questioning on the contemporary human condition.

bang-bang-compagnie-manuel-roque_2-heade

Manuel 

Roque

ATELIER

L’atelier portera sur l’exploration et l’écoute kinesthésique de soi, de l’autre, du groupe et de l’environnement. Par le biais d’exercices d’improvisation et de matériel écrit, l’interprète sera amené à questionner les notions d’expérience physique, de partage et d’état de grâce afin de créer des points de rencontre entre virtuosité et attention somatique, dans le but de renouveler à l'infini le plaisir de danser. L'atelier inclura aussi des discussions sur les notions de présence, d’expérience, d’intégrité et du contexte de représentation.
 
Nous débuterons par un long échauffement guidé en explorant différents systèmes de mouvement et les notions de sol, poids, fluidité, vibration, vitesse, densité, afin d’encourager la liberté et la singularité. Nous combinerons des systèmes fluides avec des contraintes (comptages / espace / écoute de groupe...) et observerons comment nous jouons avec la matière, comment nous interagissons avec de nouveaux territoires tout en répondant à des tâches spécifiques. 
Enfin, nous allons parcourir des extraits de répertoire en utilisant les concepts que nous avons explorés plus tôt. La technicité, l'engagement total et l'attention (à soi-même, à l'autre et à l'environnement), la présence ou ‘’identité kinesthésique’’ jouent un rôle important dans cet atelier.
 

Manuel 

Roque

Atelier

24 au 28 mai ou

7 au 8 juin

10:00 à 13:30

(17.5 heures)

Édifice Wilder

Studio : à confirmer

Tarifs et

inscription

DAC pro - 158$ (9$/hr)

 Standard- 228$ (13$/hr)

MANUEL ROQUE
Parallèlement à une carrière d’interprète exaltante et hétéroclite (Cie Marie Chouinard, Dominique Porte, Peter James, Sylvain Emard, Paul André Fortier …), Manu se fait chorégraphe de courtes formes (Brendon et Brenda, 2002; Ô mon bateau, 2004) avant de créer et danser RAW- me (2010), solo qui recevra de nombreux prix au festival Vue sur la Relève et au OFFTA. Suivra le duo mariant danse et théâtre Ne meurs pas tout de suite, on nous regarde créé et interprété avec Lucie Vigneault. Il fonde la Cie Manuel Roque en 2013 et crée le projet In Situ pour l’espace public de la Place des Arts de Montréal en janvier 2014. Le solo Data (2014), s’intéresse à la mutation de la matière et sera diffusé l’Usine C, puis repris au FTA 2015 au June Event Festival (Paris) et en tournée internationale. En plus de sa participation au projet européen Migrant Bodies ou il crée Matière Noire, Manu chorégraphie Aurora pour les finissants de l’EDCMTL puis 4-OR qui est présenté à Montréal en décembre 2015 par Tangente et Parcours Danse. Le solo bang bang voit le jour à Lyon en Avril 2017, puis au FTA 2017 et remporte le prix de l’Oeuvre chorégraphique 2017 des prix de la Danse de Montréal. Il reçoit également en 2018 le studio du Québec à Paris, une résidence de recherche et de ressourcement artistique de 6 mois offerte par le CALQ et la Cité des Arts à Paris. Sa dernière création, le solo SIERRANEVADA est prise dans les méandres pandémiques et devrait maintenant voir le jour en 2021. Son univers créatif s’intéresse au métissage des langages contemporains et met en danse une virtuosité kinesthésique jumelée à un questionnement polymorphe sur la condition humaine contemporaine sur la condition humaine contemporaine.